Events

Dream City Wilkinsburg, Saturday, July 16
Reading at the Free Association Series at 1 p.m.
Free and open to everyone

Thursday, July 21-Sunday, July 31
Faculty, Summer Community of Writers
Chatham University

Tuesday, July 5
Hemingway's Summer Series
Reading with Dave Newman, Bob Pajich, Adam Matcho, and more
7 p.m., free and open to everybody
Pittsburgh, PA

Monday, June 13, 2016
East End Book Club
8 p.m.

Thursday, May 19
Pete's Candy Store
Brooklyn, NY
Reading with Rob Spillman and Daniel Nester
7:30 p.m.; Free and Open to Everybody

Monday, May 2; Monday, May 9
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute/​Univ. of Pittsburgh
Workshop
Contact Osher Institute for registration

Saturday, April 30, 4 p.m.
Staghorn Poetry Series/​Reading
Greenfield, PA
Free and open to the public

Thursday, March 17
Visiting Author
Carnegie Mellon University

Saturday, Jan. 16
7 p.m.
Opening Reception, "Verse Envisioned"
Panza Gallery

Wednesday, January 6, 2016
Visiting Author
Penn Hills Library
3 p.m.

Wednesday, December 9
Visiting Author
CCAC-Allegheny Campus
6 p.m.

Wednesday, November 18
Book signing, Noon until 2 p.m.
The University Store on Fifth
University of Pittsburgh bookstore
Pittsburgh, PA

Monday, November 9
Visiting Author
Workshop and Reading
Point Park University

Saturday, Nov. 7
Booksigning/​author chat -- Barnes and Noble, Greensburg, PA
Makers Faire event
1-5 p.m.

Ally Malinenko and Adam Matcho book launch party
reading with Ally and Adam, Dave Newman and more
8 p.m.
Modern Formations, Pittsburgh

Saturday, October 10
Book Launch featuring Dave Newman, Adam Matcho and Lori Jakiela
East End Book Exchange
Bloomfield, PA
Free and open to everyone
7 p.m.

Saturday, October 10
Featured Author and Panelist
Conversations & Connections Conference
Chatham University
9 a.m.-6 p.m.

Friday, October 9
Visiting Author
Cooper-Siegel Library, Fox Chapel, PA
11 a.m.

Saturday, September 12
NERVE COWBOY MAGAZINE CELEBRATION
with Scott Silsbe, Dave Newman, Bob Pajich, Kris Collins, Meghan Tutolo, Jason Baldinger and more
8 p.m., Modern Formations Gallery, Pittsburgh

August 15-August 22
Visiting Writer/​Faculty
Prose/​Nonfiction
Chautauqua Institution

Wednesday, July 29

Reading with Steven Sherrill (JOY, PA)
Chatham University Summer Community of Writers
7 p.m.

Wednesday, April 1
SLAB Magazine Launch/​Slippery Rock University
8 p.m. at Alumni House
Free and open to the public

Tuesday, April 7
MODERN LOVE:
A reading with NY Times Modern Love Editor Dan Jones and Aubrey Hirsh
7 p.m.
Cathedral of Learning, Room 232
Free and open to the public

Saturday, April 11
Crime Writer Bill Boyle Invades Pittsburgh!
Reading with William Boyle, author of DEATH DON'T HAVE NO MERCY and GRAVESEND, plus Dave Newman, author of TWO SMALL BIRDS and RAYMOND CARVER WON'T RAISE OUR CHILDREN, and Bob Pajich, author of TROLLEYMAN.
7 p.m. at East End Book Exchange, Liberty Avenue, Bloomfield
Free and open to the public

Monday, April 27 and Monday May 4
Writing Workshops/​The Osher Institute
The University of Pittsburgh
Contact The Osher Institute for registration

Thursday, April 30
8 p.m.-12:30 a.m.
International Workers of the World
May Day Eve Celebration
Bulgarian Macedonian Cultural Center
Homestead, PA
Free plus cash bar
Bring a dish to share

Thursday, May 21
Autumn House Books reading with author Jill Kandel
7 p.m.
East End Book Exchange, Bloomfield
Free and open to the public

Friday, May 22
Reading with Sarah Einstein, author of REMNANTS OF PASSION and more
7 p.m.
East End Book Exchange, Bloomfield
7 p.m.

Friday, June 18-Sunday, June 21
CHAUTAUQUA WRITERS FESTIVAL
Lori will be reading at the co-directors reading with Sherrie Flick (fiction) and Phil Terman (poetry)

Reading with novelist Steve Sherrill and poet Sheila Squillante
Chatham University Summer Community of Writers
Wednesday, July 29
7 p.m.
Mellon Board Room
Free and open to the public

BOOKS AND BLURBS

"Adoptees look out at the world from the eyes of what was lost. We can't help it, but we can transform it. Lori Jakiela's new memoir -- Belief Is Its Own Kind of Truth, Maybe -- is a beautifully written journey into one woman's process of letting go of what was lost, and the messy dignity of human transformation. Her story is one of life, of reaching for life. With a deep gift for storytelling and unsparing, beautifully gritty self-examination, she brings the reader on the harrowing journey with her. It's an important ride, and an important book." singer-songwriter Mary Gauthier
Memoir
"Lori Jakiela's painfully funny memoir is so good you'll wonder why the author isn't the literary toast of the entire country by now."
--The Pittsburgh Post Gazette
"A marvel of a memoir... brims with both small-town heart and big-city sophistication."
--Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Poems
"Jakiela's poems read like factory guys doing shots after the foreman's funeral. Powerful, delicate, funny and goddamn great."--Serge Bielanko, MARAH

Quick Links

Find Authors